About Us

Chapter Story

The Northern Virginia Chapter was officially chartered as of May 14, 2016.  Our first chapter meeting was held on September 11, 2016.    Our founding charter members are:

Natalie Alexander, C’2001 Natalie M. Bailey, C’2003 Dawn Carr, C’1999
Dana Gill, C’1999 Alexandra Hadley, C’2002 Asten Hall-Alexander, C’2003
Lynne Hicks, C 1978 Amber M. Hines, C’2005 Melanie Jones, C’1987
Jasmine Leal-Taylor, C’2011 Candace Marshall-Humphrey, C’1998 Celeste A. Roney, C’1999
Shashonna M. Smith, C’1997 Shayla M. Smith, C’2006 Kelli C. Tyus, C’1988

Our mission is to:  support our Alma mater’s efforts to enroll and graduate the next generation of Spelman women.  In our first year as a chapter, our primary objective (and supporting activities/programs) is to raise funds to support Spelman students.

Executive Board

  • President – Natalie Bailey 
  • Vice President – Alex Hadley
  • Treasurer – Nyla Walker
  • Recording Secretary –  Vacant
  • Corresponding Secretary – Shashonna Smith
  • Financial Secretary – Vacant

Chapter Meetings

We meet on alternating months (odd-numbered months).  We plan social/service chapter events on alternating months (even-numbered months).   We hope to see many of our Northern Virginia sisters coming out every month.

Chapter By-Laws

September 2019 By-Laws [DRAFT]

October 2018 By-Laws [FINAL]

July 2018 By-Laws [FINAL]

FYI, you can view the National By-Laws on the NAASC National website’s resources page.